Je gebruikt Internet Explorer. Deze site werkt het best op een recentere browser zoals Chrome, Firefox of Safari. Lees hier meer

Click here for online tickets & safety measures.
Open today from 10:00 to 18:00
plan your visit
Alonso collectie
COLLECTION

The Alonso International Glass Collection

Relishes a Century of Glass Art

by Bernadette De Loose and María Alonso

During his stay in Brussels, first as a Spanish diplomat and later as a senior official of the European Union, Antonio Alonso (1936-2011) took an interest in the quality and the possibilities of glass. Collecting crystal and glassware became his passion. For decades he visited auction houses, antique shops and flea markets.

The collection comprises very diverse shapes and techniques and covers the period from the end of the 19th century to around 1990.

The focus is on glassware from the studios of Val Saint-Lambert, which at the end of the 19th century was a thriving company led by artistic director Léon Ledru. During the interwar period the company won a few awards with entries for L’Exposition des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes as well as at the world exhibitions of 1930 and 1935. Some models are included in the Alonso collection.

Alonso 48

The collection further includes gems from the French Art Nouveau. The glass artist Emile Gallé is represented with several objects.

German, Bohemian, Italian and Finnish glassware was added by Antonio Alonso as well. Post-war designs are mainly represented by Studio Glass, glassware mostly produced in a small oven in the artist’s studio.

Admittedly, crystal glass artwork has not always received the attention it deserves in Spain, the collector’s homeland. In 2005 a large part of the collection was transferred from Segovia to Ghent and exhibited there. Five years later, another twenty works were added. Since then, no less than a hundred and twenty objects have been on long-term loan.

Alsonso vazen

Masterpieces from the collection were included in the major exhibition Design Derby 1815-2015, BE-NL, a co-production between the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen and Design Museum Gent. In the spring of 2016, the Japanese embassy in Brussels was the venue for a small exhibition on the subject of Japonism in Art Nouveau glass with a lecture provided by Prof. Dr. Werner Adriaenssens. During Heritage Day 2016, Astrid Maton, master of Japanese flower arranging, was allowed the use of a selection of the vases to showcase her Ikebana expertise.

In the spring of 2018, the curators selected a few masterpieces from the glass collection for the new collection presentation Object Stories. A look at the collection. Some 15 other objects are on display in the 18th century Hotel de Coninck.

More info

Je gebruikt Internet Explorer. Deze site werkt het best op een recentere browser zoals Chrome, Firefox of Safari. Lees hier meer

Réservez en ligne ici & lisez nos mesures de sécurité.
Ouvert aujourd’hui de 10:00 à 18:00
préparez votre visite
Alonso collectie
COLLECTION

L’Alonso International Glass Collection

braque ses projecteurs sur un siècle d’art verrier

par Bernadette De Loose et Maria Alonso

C’est lors de son séjour à Bruxelles, d’abord en tant que diplomate espagnol, puis en tant que haut fonctionnaire de l’Union européenne, qu’Antonio Alonso (1936-2011) s’intéressa à la qualité et aux possibilités du verre. Collectionner le cristal et la verrerie devint une véritable passion et, pendant des décennies, il écuma les ventes aux enchères, antiquaires et marchés aux puces.

Tant au niveau des formes que des techniques, la collection est très diversifiée et couvre la période allant de la fin du 19e siècle aux environs de 1990.

L’accent est mis sur la production des Cristalleries de Val Saint-Lambert, une entreprise qui connut son apogée à la fin du 19e siècle, sous la houlette du directeur artistique Léon Ledru. Pendant l’entre-deux-guerres, l’entreprise remporta de nombreux prix en participant à l’Exposition des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes, ainsi qu’aux Expositions Universelles de 1930 et 1935. Certains modèles font partie de la collection Alonso.

Alonso 48

La collection comprend également des joyaux de l’Art Nouveau français, dont plusieurs objets de l’artiste verrier Émile Gallé.

Des verreries allemandes, de Bohême, italiennes et finlandaises furent également ajoutées par Antonio Alonso. Les créations de l’après-guerre sont principalement représentées par Studio Glass, de la verrerie généralement produite dans un petit four de l’atelier de l’artiste.

L’art du cristal n’a pas toujours reçu l’attention qu’il mérite en Espagne, le pays du collectionneur. En 2005, une grande partie de la collection fut transférée de Ségovie à Gand, où elle est exposée. Cinq ans plus tard, vingt autres pièces sont venues s’ajouter. Depuis lors, pas moins de 120 objets ont été prêtés à long terme.

Alsonso vazen

Des pièces maîtresses de la collection ont été incluses dans la grande exposition Design Derby 1815-2015, BE-NL, une coproduction du Musée Boijmans Van Beuningen et de Design Museum Gent. Au printemps 2016, une petite exposition placée sous le thème du japonisme dans la verrerie Art Nouveau a été organisée à l’Ambassade du Japon à Bruxelles, où le Prof. Dr Werner Adriaenssens a donné une conférence. Et lors de l’Erfgoeddag (Journées du patrimoine) 2016, Astrid Maton, maître de l’art floral japonais, a pu utiliser une sélection de vases pour présenter son savoir-faire en ikebana.

Au printemps 2018, les commissaires ont sélectionné pour Object Stories. Un regard sur la collection quelques pièces maîtresses de la collection de verrerie. Une quinzaine d’autres objets sont présentés à l’Hotel de Coninck du 18e siècle.

Plus d’infos