Je gebruikt Internet Explorer. Deze site werkt het best op een recentere browser zoals Chrome, Firefox of Safari. Lees hier meer

We are working on a new exhibition. Some rooms are therefore closed until 26 October 2018.
Closed today, drop by tomorrow from 09:30 to 17:30
plan your visit
F88 In Het Atelier Van Mvs Galgenberg Gent C The Maarten Van Severen Foundation
COLLECTION

F88

Maarten Van Severen

by Eva Van Regenmortel

This lounge chair is an early design of Maarten Van Severen, the best-known Belgian designer of his generation. F88 stands for Fauteuil 1988. That same year, he designed a cabinet and two tables, called K88, T88A and T88W respectively. All four of these designs share the same simple, pure design characteristics that would catapult the designer to international fame.

Maarten Van Severen had studied architecture at Sint-Lucas for a few years before abandoning his studies to work for Monique Stoop’s Ghent-based architect’s firm. He spent five years designing interiors and furniture for her. He also helped execute designs on site for some of the projects. And he also worked on interior design projects with his brother Fabiaan.

Van Severen also designed and produced furniture for his own use and for his family, because he could never find furniture to his liking. F88 is a very low lounge chair. In fact, it is so low that you can place your glass of wine on the floor next to you. It also accentuates a woman’s legs. And the curved leather back rest provides warmth and a sense of enclosure. Maarten Van Severen finally added a chair to the series in 1992, called CN° II (Chair Number Two), the predecessor of that other seminal design that launched his international career in 1998, i.e., the .03 for Vitra.

F88 In Het Woongedeelte Van Het Atelier  Foto Fien Muller C The Maarten Van Severen Foundation
F88 in the living area of the workshop
88 Zoals Ingezonden Voor De Beurs Decosit Met Textiel Van Marc Van Hoe

He first exhibited F88 at the Decosit textile trade show in 1988. The organisers had asked a handful of designers to design and produce a throne. Van Severen collaborated with the textile designer, Marc Van Hoe, on the seat. He used a recycled conveyor belt for the backrest of his first chair. The perforations determined the rhythm of the leather strips.

The Van Severen family continued to use this prototype until 2015, after which it was added to the collection presentation Maarten Van Severen & Co, which combines his work with that of kindred spirits and designers. Design Museum Gent manages the world’s largest collection of objects by Maarten Van Severen, comprising objects from the designer’s estate, including studies and prototypes such as this chair. Design Museum Gent works closely with The Maarten Van Severen Foundation to keep Maarten Van Severen’s work alive.

Postkaart Met Info Over Het Project Voor Decosit

Postcard about the project for Decosit

Je gebruikt Internet Explorer. Deze site werkt het best op een recentere browser zoals Chrome, Firefox of Safari. Lees hier meer

Ouvert aujourd’hui de 10:00 à 18:00
préparez votre visite
F88 In Het Atelier Van Mvs Galgenberg Gent C The Maarten Van Severen Foundation
COLLECTION

F88

Maarten Van Severen

par Eva Van Regenmortel

Ce siège est une création précoce de Maarten Van Severen, le designer belge le plus célèbre de sa génération. F88 signifie Fauteuil 1988. La même année, il avait conçu une armoire et deux tables : K88, T88A et T88W. Les quatre créations arborent le même design raffiné qui allait faire la renommée de leur concepteur.   

Maarten Van Severen a étudié l'architecture durant plusieurs années à Sint-Lucas, mais a arrêté ses études afin d’aller travailler pour le bureau d'architecture de Monique Stoop à Gand, où il a dessiné pour elle des intérieurs et des meubles pendant cinq ans. Pour un certain nombre de projets, il a également participé à la mise en œuvre sur le chantier. Parallèlement, il a aussi réalisé des projets d'intérieur avec son frère Fabiaan.  

Comme il ne trouvait pas son bonheur parmi l’offre de meubles existante, il en a également fabriqué pour sa famille et lui-même. Le F88 offre une assise très basse afin de permettre de déposer son verre de vin par terre, à côté de soi. Les jambes des femmes y sont magnifiquement mises en valeur, tandis que le dossier en cuir courbé offre chaleur et intimité. Il a cependant fallu attendre 1992 pour que Maarten Van Severen crée sa première chaise. Ce fut la CN° II (Chair Number Two), le précurseur de cette autre création qui lui vaudrait sa grande percée en 1998, la .03 pour Vitra.   I

F88 In Het Woongedeelte Van Het Atelier  Foto Fien Muller C The Maarten Van Severen Foundation
F88 dans le salon de l'atelier
88 Zoals Ingezonden Voor De Beurs Decosit Met Textiel Van Marc Van Hoe

Il a exposé le F88 pour la première fois en 1988 au salon textile Decosit, dont les organisateurs avaient demandé à quelques designers de réaliser un trône. Pour l’assise, il avait travaillé avec le designer textile Marc Van Hoe. Pour le dossier de ce premier exemplaire, il avait récupéré une bande transporteuse dont les perforations déterminent le rythme en bandes.

Après le salon, ce fauteuil a été utilisé par la famille de Maarten Van Severen jusqu'en 2015. Depuis lors, il fait partie de la présentation de la collection Maarten Van Severen & Co, dans laquelle nous mettons son travail en relation avec celui de designers apparentés. Design Museum Gent gère d’ailleurs la plus grande collection d'objets de Maarten Van Severen du monde. Constituée en partie par le musée depuis les années 1990, cette collection comporte notamment des objets provenant de la succession du designer, dont des études et des prototypes comme ce fauteuil. Design Museum Gent travaille en étroite collaboration avec la Fondation Maarten Van Severen afin de maintenir en vie l'œuvre du designer.

Postkaart Met Info Over Het Project Voor Decosit

Carte postale sur le projet de Decosit