Je gebruikt Internet Explorer. Deze site werkt het best op een recentere browser zoals Chrome, Firefox of Safari. Lees hier meer

Open today from 9:30 to 17:30
plan your visit
Afb 6 rechthoek website4
COLLECTION

A cosmopolitan chair for Philippe Wolfers' smoking room

Paul Hankar

by Marie Becuwe

Towards the end of his life, the Brussels Art Nouveau architect Paul Hankar (1859-1901) designed a country house for his friend, the silversmith and artist Philippe Wolfers (1858-1929). In 1899, Philippe Wolfers purchased a plot of land in a new development in the hamlet of Maleizen on the border of Overijse and Terhulpen, together with his brother Max and his cousin Albert. Maleizen found favour with many rich inhabitants of Brussels because of the verdant surroundings and the easy connection with the capital. The Wolfers brothers and their cousin cemented their social status as owners of the flourishing silversmith company Wolfers Frères with the construction of a spacious country residence. Paul Hankar was tasked with designing the entire property of the Wolfers family, except for the villa of Max Wolfers. He created the villa Les Glycines (glycine is the French word for wisteria) and a separate design studio for Philippe Wolfers in addition to the villa Les Mimosas for Albert Wolfers.

Portrait of Paul Hankar

Portret of Paul Hankar © Géruzet Frères

The villas of Max and Albert Wolfers © Théo Van den Heuvel, private collection

The villas of Max and Albert Wolfers
Villa Les Glycines of Philippe Wolfers

Villa Les Glycines of Philippe Wolfers © Philippe Wolfers Archive, King Baudouin Foundation

The entire concept had a distinctly oriental feel to it, which is typical of the artistic climate of that era. After Japan’s self-imposed isolation drew to a close in 1854 with the signing of international trade agreements, an obsession with all things Japanese swept Europe and America. Japanese art objects and prints found their way to Western consumers through galleries, art collections, magazines, and world fairs. For artists, Japonisme provided a welcome creative turn while the upper classes embraced this new trend with gusto. Art Nouveau was heavily influenced by Japanese art and its stylised design, craftsmanship and diverse range of materials, as is evidenced from the work of both Paul Hankar and Philippe Wolfers. The country residences of the Wolfers family also highlight how influences from Japan, China and the Middle East seamlessly merged with each other in the West. Hankar added a Japanese ornamental garden with a bridge over a water lily pond and an aviary with peacocks and rainbow pheasants to the park. The covered balconies and balustrades with their stylised motifs lent Philippe Wolfers’ cottage the appearance of a Chinese pavilion.

The design’s oriental inspiration culminated in the interior of the smoking room of Villa Les Glycines, for which Paul Hankar designed a unique set of furniture. Three identical chairs, a stool and a table from this room found their way to the collection of Design Museum Gent by way of Philippe’s son, Marcel Wolfers. Despite the prevailing idea that the smoking room had a Japanese aesthetic, the influence of traditional Chinese interiors, in which furniture played a central role, cannot be underestimated. In Japanese interiors, the few pieces of furniture were frequently incorporated in the architecture and concealed behind sliding doors, staircases, or trapdoors.

Philippe Wolfers

Portrait of Philippe Wolfers (Adriaenssens & Steel, De Wolfers dynastie, 2006).

Chair for the smoking room of Villa Les Glycines

Chair for the smoking room of Villa Les Glycines © Design Museum Gent, www.artinflanders.be, an initiative of meemoo, photo Cedric Verhelst

The chairs for the smoking room bear witness to Paul Hankar’s distinctive personal style. Unlike Victor Horta, whose style combined curves and curling lines with floral motifs, Hankar clearly preferred a simpler, more geometric approach. The chairs explicitly point to his interest in the Far East. The restrained, simple design with stylised ornaments, the woven leather and the combination of dark and light wood are typical oriental elements. At the formal level, the chair design bears similarities with traditional Chinese and Japanese folding chairs. That said, chairs were relatively uncommon in Japan, where people preferred to sit on the floor. Seating furniture, which found its way to Japan from China, mainly had a prestigious function in shrines or as a status symbol for the Japanese elite.

Stool for the smoking room of Villa Les Glycines

Stool for the smoking room of Villa Les Glycines © Design Museum Gent

It is easy to see why the chairs are associated with the Far East as elements of an oriental inspired smoking room. Hankar, however, may also have been inspired by Africa, where folding chairs were widely used in a colonial context, for his designs. Colonial powers, such as Great Britain and the Belgian King Leopold II, used folding chairs and other campaign furniture on their international expeditions. Their simple, functional shapes and the use of leather clearly overlap with the chairs for the smoking room. Besides colonial furniture, Paul Hankar may also have been inspired by African furniture. After all, he had had plenty of opportunity to study Congolese shapes and materials as the interior designer of the Congo section of the 1897 World Fair, which was dedicated to Leopold II’s Congo Free State. The furniture that Hankar created for the Palace of the Colonies in Tervuren was produced in Congolese materials and, in some instances, referred to domestic furniture types, such as the stool used by the Luba people of the Congo. Profiled wood joints and the use of mahogany and leather for this style congo are also characteristic of his later chair design for the smoking room.

Table for the smoking room of Villa Les Glycines

Table for the smoking room of Villa Les Glycines © Design Museum Gent

Sketch of the chair (profile and cushion) © KMKG Art & History Museum Brussels, Paul Hankar Fund, dossier Cottage Wolfers Philippe Overijse

Sketch of the chair (profile and cushion)

Paul Hankar combined these ‘exotic’ influences with elements from the neo-Flemish renaissance, the style of his teacher Hendrik Beyaert. The combination of tradition and innovation was a constant in Hankar’s furniture art. The influence of this neo-Flemish renaissance is especially evident in the chair design, in the use of leather and of the visible mortise and tenon joints. Hankar’s rational construction of the chair, with predominantly oblique lines, is also indebted to the rationalism of the French architect Eugène Viollet-Le-Duc. As such, the smoking room chair, with its multiple sources of inspiration, is a remarkably cosmopolitan object.

Sources

  • Paul Hankar Fund, dossier Cottage Wolfers Philippe Overijse, Brussels: KMKG Art & History Museum Brussels.
  • Sandro Bocola (ed.), African Seats, Prestel, Munich, 1995.
  • Guy Conde-Reis, “Paul Hankar en de invloed van de Chinese architectuur”, Erfgoed Brussel, 19-20, 2016, pp. 93-105.
  • Lieven Daenens, “Bouwkunst als synthese van verschillende uitdrukkingsmiddelen”, in: Werner Adriaenssens, Lieven Daenens and François Loyer, Paul Hankar als interieurarchitect, King Baudouin Foundation, Brussels, 2005.
  • Kazuko Koizumi, Traditional Japanese Furniture. A Definitive Guide, Kadansha Intern, Tokyo/ New York, 1986.
  • François Loyer, Paul Hankar. La naissance de l’art nouveau, AAM, Brussels, 1986.

Je gebruikt Internet Explorer. Deze site werkt het best op een recentere browser zoals Chrome, Firefox of Safari. Lees hier meer

Ouvert aujourd’hui de 9:30 à 17:30
préparez votre visite
Afb 6 rechthoek website4
COLLECTION

Une chaise cosmopolite pour le fumoir de Philippe Wolfers

Paul Hankar

par Marie Becuwe

À la fin de sa vie, l'architecte bruxellois Art nouveau Paul Hankar (1859-1901) conçut la seconde résidence de son ami l’orfèvre et artiste Philippe Wolfers (1858-1929). En 1899, Wolfers avait en effet acheté avec son frère Max et son neveu Albert un grand terrain situé dans un nouveau quartier du hameau de Malaise, à la limite entre Overijse et La Hulpe. Le cadre verdoyant ainsi que la connexion rapide avec la capitale avaient fait de Malaise un endroit très prisé des Bruxellois nantis. Avec la construction d'une spacieuse seconde résidence et le choix d'un architecte de renom, les frères et le neveu Wolfers pérennisaient leur statut social en tant que gérants de la florissante entreprise d'orfèvrerie Wolfers Frères. Le domaine de la famille Wolfers fut entièrement conçu par Paul Hankar, à l'exception de la villa de Max Wolfers. Pour Philippe Wolfers, l’architecte conçut la villa Les Glycines ainsi qu’un atelier indépendant. Pour Albert, il créa la villa Les Mimosas.

Portrait de Paul Hankar

Portrait de Paul Hankar © Géruzet Frères

Les villas de Max et Albert Wolfers © Théo Van den Heuvel, collection privée

Les villas de Max et Albert Wolfers
Villa Les Glycines de Philippe Wolfers

Villa Les Glycines de Philippe Wolfers © archives Philippe Wolfers, Fondation Roi Baudouin

Le concept total baignait dans une atmosphère orientale, typique du climat artistique de l'époque. Après l’ouverture du Japon isolé au commerce international en 1854, un véritable engouement pour ce pays avait vu le jour en Europe et en Amérique. Les estampes et objets d'art japonais se répandaient dans le monde occidental par le biais de galeries, collections d'art, magazines et expositions universelles. Le japonisme constituait une bouffée de créativité pour les artistes, et une nouvelle mode pour la bourgeoisie aisée. Avec son design stylisé, son savoir-faire et la richesse de ses matériaux, l'art japonais fut un important vivier pour l'Art Nouveau, ainsi que le montrent les réalisations de Paul Hankar et Philippe Wolfers. La seconde résidence de la famille Wolfers illustre néanmoins le fait que les influences du Japon, de la Chine et du Moyen-Orient se mélangeaient souvent sans problème en Occident. Dans le parc, Hankar avait aménagé un jardin d'ornement japonais avec un petit pont enjambant un étang de nénuphars ainsi qu’un enclos avec des paons et des faisans dorés. Les balcons couverts et les garde-corps aux motifs stylisés conféraient au cottage de Philippe Wolfers l'apparence d'un pavillon chinois.

Le design d'inspiration orientale culminait à l'intérieur du fumoir de la Villa Les Glycines, pour lequel Paul Hankar avait conçu un ensemble de meubles spécial. Trois chaises identiques, un tabouret ainsi qu’une table de cette pièce se sont retrouvés dans la collection de Design Museum Gent par l'intermédiaire de Marcel Wolfers, fils de Philippe. Malgré l'opinion communément répandue selon laquelle le fumoir était imprégné d'une atmosphère japonisante, l'influence des intérieurs chinois traditionnels ne doit pas être sous-estimée. En effet, les meubles y occupaient une place centrale, tandis que le mobilier japonais, limité, était souvent intégré à l'architecture derrière des panneaux coulissants, des escaliers ou des trappes.

Philippe Wolfers

Portrait de Philippe Wolfers (Adriaenssens & Steel, De Wolfers dynastie, 2006).

Chaise pour le fumoir de la Villa Les Glycines

Chaise pour le fumoir de la Villa Les Glycines © Design Museum Gent, www.artinflanders.be, une initiative de meemoo, photo Cedric Verhelst

Les chaises du fumoir témoignent du style très personnel de Paul Hankar. Contrairement à l'Art nouveau flamboyant et floral de Victor Horta, Hankar a eu recours à des formes géométriques et sobres. Les chaises expriment explicitement son intérêt pour l'Extrême-Orient. Le design sobre avec des ornements stylisés, les bandes en cuir tressées et la combinaison de bois clairs et foncés sont autant d’éléments caractéristiques de l'Orient. Formellement, la conception des chaises présente des similitudes avec les chaises pliantes traditionnelles japonaises et chinoises. Dans la culture japonaise, où l’on s'asseyait généralement sur le sol, les chaises n'étaient cependant pas courantes. Les sièges, venus principalement de Chine, remplissaient principalement des fonctions de prestige dans les sanctuaires ou étaient symboles de statut pour l'élite japonaise.

Tabouret pour le fumoir de la Villa Les Glycines

Tabouret pour le fumoir de la Villa Les Glycines © Design Museum Gent.

En tant qu’éléments du fumoir d'inspiration orientale, les chaises sont logiquement associées à l'Extrême-Orient. Néanmoins, il n'est pas exclu que Hankar se soit également inspiré de l’Afrique. En effet, les chaises pliantes étaient très courantes dans le contexte colonial. Les puissances coloniales, comme la Grande-Bretagne et le roi des Belges Léopold II, utilisaient des chaises pliantes et autres campaign furniture lors de leurs expéditions à l'étranger. Leurs formes simples et fonctionnelles et l'utilisation du cuir présentent clairement des similitudes avec les chaises du fumoir. Outre les meubles coloniaux, Paul Hankar a peut-être aussi été sensible à l'art du meuble africain. Lors de l'Exposition universelle de 1897, placée sous le signe de l'État libre du Congo de Léopold II, il aurait en tout cas pu, en tant qu'architecte d'intérieur, se familiariser pleinement avec les formes et matériaux congolais. Les meubles conçus par Hankar pour le Palais des colonies de Tervuren étaient réalisés dans des matériaux congolais et faisaient parfois référence à des types de meubles indigènes, comme le tabouret Luba congolais. Les liaisons en bois profilé et l'utilisation d'acajou et de cuir dans ce style congo caractérisent également la conception ultérieure de sa chaise pour le fumoir.

Table pour le fumoir de la Villa Les Glycines © Design Museum Gent

Table pour le fumoir de la Villa Les Glycines © Design Museum Gent.

Projet pour la chaise (profil et assise) © MRAH, fonds Paul Hankar, dossier Cottage Wolfers Philippe Overijse.

Projet pour la chaise (profil et assise)

Paul Hankar a combiné ces influences ‘exotiques’ avec des éléments de la néo-Renaissance flamande, le style de son maître Hendrik Beyaert. Cette combinaison de tradition et d'innovation était une constante dans l'art du meuble de Hankar. Dans la conception de la chaise, l'influence de la néo-Renaissance flamande se manifeste principalement dans l'utilisation du cuir et les assemblages à tenons et mortaises visibles. Hankar doit en outre au rationalisme de l'architecte français Eugène Viollet-Le-Duc la structure rationnelle de la chaise aux lignes principalement obliques. La multitude de sources d'inspiration fait de la chaise du fumoir un objet cosmopolite remarquable.

Sources

  • Fonds Paul Hankar, dossier Cottage Wolfers Philippe Overijse, Bruxelles : MRAH.
  • Sandro Bocola (ed.), African Seats, Prestel, Munich, 1995.
  • Guy Conde-Reis, ‘Paul Hankar et l’influence de l’architecture chinoise’, Bruxelles Patrimoines, 19-20, 2016, pp. 93-105.
  • Lieven Daenens, ‘L'architecture, synthèse de différentes formes d'expression’, dans : Werner Adriaenssens, Lieven Daenens et François Loyer, ‘Paul Hankar, architecte d'intérieur’, Fondation Roi Baudouin, Bruxelles, 2005.
  • Kazuko Koizumi, Traditional Japanese Furniture. A Definitive Guide, Kadansha Intern, Tokyo/New York, 1986.
  • François Loyer, Paul Hankar. La naissance de l’art nouveau, AAM, Bruxelles, 1986.